The Rainbow Cake

I did it! After months of wanting to make a rainbow cake, I finally found the time (and the colour gel paste) to make it! I spent 2 1/2 weeks in Auckland visiting family and I was itching to get back into the kitchen to try something new so as soon as the public holiday came around, I was back into baking mode.

Theres heaps of different ways to make Rainbow cake and I made it the way I found the easiest. I used boxed buttercake mixtures and ready made vanilla frosting. These are the items I used :

Separate the batter into 6 bowls (I know there’s 7 in the picture but that’s because I made a mistake). I found the best way to make sure that they were all equal was to use a measuring cup. Start dividing using 1 cup and then go from there.

Colour each one the colours of the rainbow! Try and get it as bright as you can.

Bake each colour one at a time in a round cake pan. It took me forever because I only have one round cake pan the right size! So to save time, try and borrow one from someone but make sure the cake pan are the same sizes. Once the cakes have cooled, starting piling them one on top of another frosting each between each cake. I thought I had applied  a lot of frosting but when I cut the cake, you could hardly see it. So be generous if you want it to show in between the layers. I used about four tubs of frosting for this cake.

Frost frost and frost some more. I did the crumb technique, then left it in the fridge for about 2 hours before applying the final coat of frosting.

Ok so the cake was a little wonky and thats probably because I didnt bother to smooth it all over. After all, its all about the inside! 😀

And ta-da! Beautiful colours!

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “The Rainbow Cake

Leave a Reply

