Red Velvet mini cupcakes

I’ve never been much of a red velvet fan, probably because they are very dense cakes and I never understood what the big deal was with red coloured cupcakes. So when I got asked to make some for a family BBQ I secretly wanted to make vanilla cupcakes and colour them deep red (shhhhhhh!!!) BUT i didnt. Why? Because I knew that someone would notice and I would then be known as the girl who makes red velvet using vanilla cake and colouring it red. eek.
Anyways, I decided to make mini cupcakes as I always find that when it comes to any functions, the mini cupcakes are far more popular than making regular sizes for the simple reason that people dont feel half as bad popping a couple of mini ones than having one regular one (it’s all in your head people!) 😛
I tried red velvet for the first time and I must admit, it took me longer than I thought. I needed a lot more ingredients and some weird ones too (apple cider vinegar?!) but I made it! After overcooking the first batch, I still had more than enough batter to make over 50 mini cupcakes. My quality control manager aka dear husband, made sure that each batch was as perfect as could be.
Then it was time to make the cream cheese frosting and this was the first time I tried it and I now have a new favourite frosting! Cream cheese is a nice creamy frosting made with cream cheese, butter and a lot of icing sugar and I have to say, when cream cheese frosting meets red velvet cupcakes, they are the best cupcakes ever.

So here they are! I decorated them with little fondant flowers to make them look extra pretty 🙂

Enjoy and Happy Baking!

2 thoughts on “Red Velvet mini cupcakes

  1. Your blog now had advertisements – James the Cup Cake man thought that he would only come here to fantasy about the images of the melting chocolate over the cakes I so desperately need to survive – instead there are now advertisements when I try to make a comment – Siddiqa – you use to be about the cup cakes. This is James The Cup Cake man signing out for the last time!

    I am heading over to Poppy Cakes.

Leave a Reply

