Swirls and flowers – Tutorial!

I’ve finally had the chance to dedicate more time to my blog and to my love of baking and decorating, so I’ve been spending a bit of time with different colour combinations for cupcake designs. I recently made some french vanilla flavoured cupcakes decorated with vanilla buttercream. I wanted to work more on piping so I did some rose swirls and ordinary swirls and made some purple and yellow toppers.

I did a quick tutorial on how to make these toppers too!

IMG_6869

Roll out your fondant 2mm thickness. Make sure that the fondant is rolled out evenly. I added tylose to the fondant to help dry it out once the flowers are cut.

IMG_6870

Cut out flowers and butterflies using your cutters. Cut out a few spare ones just in case!

IMG_6872

I use egg trays (after its been cleaned) to let my flowers dry and create its shape.

IMG_6875

Roll out little balls using a different colour to that of the flower (I chose yellow) and stick them in the middle of each flower using a bit of water.

IMG_6876

Leave these to dry for a few hours or until they are stiff. Mine took about 2 hours before it was ready to use on my cupcakes.

IMG_6873

For the butterflies, using A4 paper, fold it as above and place butterflies as seen below.

 IMG_6874

Once the butterflies and flowers have dried, place them on top of your buttercream swirls.

And the end result: beautiful cupcakes with green swirls and pink flower toppers

IMG_6885

 IMG_6892

Leave a Reply

